Nine added to Buck Buchanan Award Watch List


STATS FCS Senior Editor

(STATS) - Nine players whose excellence has grown throughout the college football season were nominated to the STATS FCS Buck Buchanan Award Watch List on Thursday.

The Buchanan Award, presented to the national defensive player of the year in college football's Division I subdivision, has sent past winners such as Dexter Coakley, Rashean Mathis, Jared Allen, Arthur Moats and Kyle Emanuel on to NFL careers.

The new nominees to the watch list:

Jabril Cox, North Dakota State, LB, R-So., 6-3, 231, Kansas City, Mo.

Statistics: 57 tackles (40 solo), 7 TFL, 3 sacks, 4 INTs (2 TDs), 3 PBU, 5 QBH (9 games)

Anthony Gore Jr., Kennesaw State, LB, Sr., 6-0, 221, Statesboro, Georgia

Statistics: 47 tackles (33 solo), 7 TFL, 3 sacks, 1 FF (9 games)

Zach Hall, Southeast Missouri, LB, Jr., 6-0, 230, Louisville, Kentucky

Statistics: 119 tackles (48 solo), 9.5 TFL, 1 sack, 3 INT, 1 PBU, 2 FR (1 TD), 2 FF, 2 BK, 1 safety (9 games)

Isaiah Mack, Chattanooga, DT, R-Sr., 6-3, 305, Tunnel Hills, Georgia

Statistics: 66 tackles (32 solo), 10 TFL, 7.5 sacks, 2 PBU, 7 QBH, 1 FR, 2 FF (9 games)

Mason Moe, UC Davis, LB, Sr., 6-0, 210, Kaneohe, Hawaii

Statistics: 48 tackles (33 solo), 15.5 TFL, 8.5 sacks, 3 INT, 3 PBU, 3 QBH, 1 FR, 1 FF (9 games)

Troy Reeder, Delaware, LB, R-Sr., 6-3, 245, Hockessin, Delaware

Statistics: 95 tackles (49 solo), 11 TFL, 2.5 sacks, 1 INT, 1 QBH, 1 FR, 1 FF, 1 BK (9 games)

Derick Roberson, Sam Houston State, LB, R-Sr., 6-4, 250, San Antonio

Statistics: 56 tackles (35 solo), 18 TFL, 13.5 sacks, 2 PBU, 9 QBH, 5 FF, 1 BL, 1 safety (9 games)

Sterling Sheffield, Maine, LB, Sr., 6-2, 240, Mullica Hill, New Jersey

Statistics: 59 tackles (34 solo), 12 TFL, 8.5 sacks, 1 INT, 2 PBU, 2 QBH, 2 FR (1 TD), 2 FF (9 games)

Pete Swenson, Western Illinois, LB, R-Sr., 6-3, 230, Mason City, Iowa

Statistics: 48 tackles (35 solo), 20 TFL, 11 sacks, 7 QBH, 3 FF (9 games)

Previous nominees were defensive linemen Miles Brown of Wofford, Andrew Clyde of Richmond, Ahmad Gooden of Samford, Darin Greenfield of South Dakota, Darryl Johnson Jr. of North Carolina A&T, Greg Menard of North Dakota State, Nasir Player of ETSU, Khalen Saunders of Western Illinois, Chris Stewart of Sam Houston State, Chris Terrell of Central Arkansas and Jaison Williams of Austin Peay; linebackers Bryson Armstrong of Kennesaw State, Willie Barrett of Marist, B.J. Blunt of McNeese, Josh Buss of Montana, De'Arius Christmas of Grambling State, Thomas Costigan of Bryant, Cam Gill of Wagner, Warren Messer of Elon, Nick Miller of Penn, Dante Olson of Montana, Christian Rozeboom of South Dakota State and Nick Wheeler of Colgate; and defensive backs Nasir Adderley of Delaware, Marlon Bridges of Jacksonville State, Robbie Grimsley of North Dakota State, Andrew Gray of South Dakota, Jimmy Moreland of James Madison, Davanta Reynolds of North Carolina Central, Rashad Robinson of James Madison, Isiah Swann of Dartmouth and Marvin Tillman of Western Carolina.

The Buchanan Award, presented since 1995, has watch list updates during the season. A national panel of over 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the winner following the regular season.

Also this season, STATS will present the Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive player of the year), Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman player of the year), Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year) and Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Updated November 8, 2018

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.