Frisco to host FCS title game for 10th time

Frisco, TEXAS, JANUARY 7,2012: Pizza Hut Park Sam Houston State University v North Dakota State University for the Division 1 fotball Championship. ND won17-6. on January 7, 2012. 2011 Rick Yeatts

(STATS) - College football's 150th anniversary celebration is one of the overwhelming storylines of the 2019 season this year, but Frisco, Texas, has something to shout about as well.

Frisco will host the FCS championship game for the 10th time when the 24-team playoffs conclude on Jan. 11 at Toyota Stadium.

The title game will remain in Frisco through the 2024 season with an option to add on the 2025 season. It will allow the Dallas suburb to surpass Chattanooga, Tennessee, which hosted the game for 13 years from 1997-2009, as the long-running host city of the FCS championship.

North Dakota State has won two straight and seven of the last nine FCS titles. Eastern Washington captured the 2010 title in Frisco's first season as the host site and James Madison was the 2016 champ.

Updated June 11, 2019

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFROM is strictly prohibited.